CSS Vertical Dropdown Menus Css3Menu.com

Find a CME Church

Signup for E-mail

Donate to African Missions CME TechShop
  • The Christian Methodist Episcopal (CME) Church was founded in December 16, 1870 by 41 ex-slaves in Jackson, Tennessee. The CME Church celebrated its 145th anniversary on December 16, 2015.
  • The CME Church is a historical African-American Christian denomination. The membership base of the CME Church is becoming increasingly multi-cultural and multi-national which truly reflects upon the Great Commission to preach the gospel to all nations and all people.
  • The CME Church is one of three African-American Methodist denominations in the United States – African Methodist Episcopal (AME) Church, African Methodist Episcopal Zion (AMEZ) Church and the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church. The CME Church participated in the Great Gathering of the three African Methodist Episcopal denominations in March 2010.
  • The CME Church has more than 1.2 million members across the United States, and has missions and sister churches in Haiti, Jamaica and fourteen African nations.
  • There are four CME related colleges, Lane College (Jackson, TN), Miles College (Birmingham, AL), Paine College (Augusta, GA) and Texas College (Tyler, TX). There is additionally a CME sponsored seminary, Phillips School of Theology, which is an affiliate member of the Interdenominational Theological Center (Atlanta, GA).
  • The first Bishop of the CME Church was Bishop William Miles.
  • At the historical 37th General Conference, five bishops were elected including the first female bishop, Teresa E. Snorton, and the indigenous bishop for Africa, Godwin T. Umoette.
  • The CME Church is governed by three branches; Executive (Episcopacy), Legislative (General Conference), and Judiciary (Judicial Council).
  • The Christian Methodist Episcopal Church is under the leadership of Senior Bishop Lawrence Reddick and the College of Bishops.
  • The headquarters of the CME Church is located in Memphis, TN.
General Photos: high resolution photos
CME Logo
The College of Bishops College of Bishops 2014 (white vestment) and General Officers  
College of Bishops 2014 (black vestment)
Media Contacts
Who to contact for more information about the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church:
Dr. Jeanette L. Bouknight
Executive Secretary
Christian Methodist Episcopal Church
Telephone: 313-861-1274
E-mail: cmeexecutivesecretary3@yahoo.com
Ms. Theresa Duhart
President, Communications & Information Technology Connectional Department
Christian Methodist Episcopal Church 
Telephone: 253-376-6361 
E-mail: theresaduhart@thecmechurch.org
Additional information is available at thecmechurch.org 
thecmechurch.org is the official online ministry of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church.
© 2015 Christian Methodist Episcopal Church. All rights reserved. Terms of Service
Administered by the Communication & Information Technology Connectional Ministry Department, Christian Methodist Episcopal Church
Questions or concerns, please contact the Webmaster